The MATA Honors and Awards Committee would like to thank you in advance for your nominations.  Descriptions and eligibility for each award can be below. Deadline for completed nomination forms is February 1, 2023.  Questions regarding nominations should be directed to the Honors and Awards Committee Chair via

Hall of Fame 

Induction into the MATA Hall of Fame is awarded to athletic trainers who have made significant contributions to the athletic training profession through their professionalism, leadership, and service in the state of Minnesota.  More than one athletic trainer may be inducted in one year.  

Larry "Stosh" Neumann Distinguished Service Award

Awarded to individuals who have made exceptional contributions in the field of athletic training over a long period of time, these athletic trainers have been advocates in the advancement of athletic training and athletic trainers in the state of Minnesota. 

Sports Medicine Enhancement Award

The Sports Medicine Enhancement Award is presented to organizations that have made consistent contributions to the advancement of the athletic training profession in the state of Minnesota.

Athletic Trainer Service Award

The Athletic Trainer Service Award recognizes MATA members for their contributions to the athletic training profession as a volunteer at the local, state, and district levels. Recipients have been involved in professional associations, community organizations, grassroots public relations efforts and service as a volunteer athletic trainer.

Outstanding Athletic Trainer Recognition Award

The Outstanding Athletic Trainer Recognition Award is given to athletic trainers that have achieved one or more outstanding accomplishments in areas such as responding in a critical situation, active in the advancement of the profession of Athletic Training and Sports Medicine, or promoted Athletic Training through public speaking and/or related events outside of Athletic Training profession.

MATA President's Award

The President’s Award is given to individuals that have gone above and beyond to enhance the MATA and does not fit the qualifications of other awards.  This award is chosen and presented by the MATA President.