The MATA Athletic Trainer Service Award is presented to Minnesota athletic trainers who have contributed to the advancement of the athletic training profession as a volunteer at the local, state, and district levels through their involvement in the following areas:

  • Professional associations
  • Community organizations
  • Grassroots public relations efforts
  • Service to further the goals of the MATA



  • Must be an active member of MATA and in good standing
  • Must be BOC certified and a licensed athletic trainer in Minnesota for a minimum of 10 years
  • Must have a current NPI#
  • Hall of Fame members and LSN Award recipients are NOT eligible for this award

Include the Following Information in Your Nomination Essay

  • How the individual’s actions have promoted the athletic training profession
  • Explain at what level their service has contributed to the athletic training profession (local, state, or district)

Selection & Notification Process

  1. The Honors and Awards Chairperson will review the nominations and forward to the Honors and Awards Committee members for review and recommendation of winners
  2. The Honors and Awards Chairperson will notify the MATA Executive Committee for final approval of winners
  3. The honors and Awards Chairperson will notify the winners by letter, email, and/or phone no later than 30 days prior to the awards banquet
  4. All winners will be presented awards at the annual awards banquet during the MATA Annual Business Meeting and Clinical Symposia
  5. If the recipient is unable to attend the awards banquet, they may defer for one year to accept the award in person

Nomination submissions and questions can be directed to the MATA Honors and Awards Chair at

Nominate Here

Award Recipients

2023     Dave Matzoll, ATC
2022     Randy Palmer, ATC
2020     Chris Siegel, ATC
2019     Troy Hoehn, ATC
2017     Amy Brugge, ATC
             Paul Westerberg, ATC
2016     Chris Ashton, ATC
    Amy Hamilton, ATC
    Dawn Hammerschmidt, ATC
2014     Brent Millikin, ATC   
    Brian Zeller, ATC
2013     Dean Wennerberg, ATC
    Scott Westermann, ATC