The Larry “Stosh” Neumann Distinguished Service Award is awarded to individuals who have made exceptional contributions in the field of athletic training over an extended period of time. These professionals have been advocates in the advancement of athletic training and athletic trainers in the state of Minnesota. Nomination eligibility includes service to the Minnesota Athletic Trainers’ Association in the following areas:

  • Interscholastic, intercollegiate, and/or professional athletics
  • Educational presentations and/or publications
  • Financial support
  • Individual is not required to be an athletic trainer


Include the Following Information in Your Nomination Essay

  • Overall Contributions to the Profession of Athletic Training and the MATA
  • Explain how the individual’s actions have promoted the athletic training profession
  • A statement is recommended on how the individual emulates the characteristics of Larry “Stosh” Neumann in their professional role

Qualifications for Athletic Trainers

  • Must be an active member of MATA and in good standing
  • Must be BOC certified and a licensed athletic trainer in Minnesota for a minimum of 10 years
  • Must have a current NPI#
  • MATA Hall of Fame members are NOT eligible for this award

Selection & Notification Process

  1. The Honors and Awards Chairperson will review the nominations and forward to the Honors and Awards Committee members for review and recommendation of winners.
  2. The Honors and Awards Chairperson will notify the MATA Executive Committee for final approval of winners.
  3. The honors and Awards Chairperson will notify the winners by letter, email, and/or phone no later than 30 days prior to the awards banquet.
  4. All winners will be presented awards at the annual awards banquet during the MATA Annual Business Meeting and Clinical Symposia.
  5. If the recipient is unable to attend the awards banquet, they may defer for one year to accept the award in person.

Nomination submissions and questions can be directed to the MATA Honors and Awards Chair at

Nominate Here

The History of Stosh

 Award Recipients


Larry "Stosh" Neumann graduated from Holy Trinity High School in Winsted, MN in 1974.  He then attended Mankato State University where he majored in Physical Education and minored in Athletic Training, earning his Bachelor's Degree in 1979.

Larry served as an intern at Viking's Training Camp in Mankato under the guidance of Head Athletic Trainer Fred Zamberletti for 4 summers.  He later was hired by Zamberletti to become the team's first full-time assistant athletic trainer shortly after graduation.  He served in that role with the team for the duration of his professional career.

Neumann, was diagnosed with brain cancer in 1985 and underwent surgery.  He battled back and returned to the Vikings later that year.  A relapse led to his retirement in 1992.  Larry ultimately lost his battle with cancer, passing away March 9, 1996.

Neumann received the Courage Award from the Minneapolis/St. Paul Minute Men in 1995.  Because of his popularity and professionalism, an award and scholarship were founded in his honor.  The Professional Football Athletic Trainers' Society and Gatorade have also co-sponsored an undergraduate scholarship for athletic training students in Larry's name.

Those who know Stosh and worked with him would agree that he truly has a servant's heart.  Along with his athletic training duties, he also volunteered at a local high school, twice sang the National Anthem prior to Vikings games and sang tenor in his church choir.

Choose this link for more information on the story of Larry "Stosh" Neumann, taken from the Professional Football Athletic Trainers' Society Newsletter.

Larry "Stosh" Neumann Distinguished Service Award Recipients

2016     Brent Millikin, MEd, ATC
    Scott Westermann, ATC

2015     Donald Martindale, MD

2014     George "Bud" Renier, MD

2013     Patrick Sexton, EdD, ATC, CSCS

2012     Richard L. Romeyn, MD

2011     Michael Doyle, MBA, ATC

2009     David Thorson, MD

2006     Elizabeth Arendt, MD

2005     B.J. Anderson, MD

2004     Patrick Smith, MD

2003     Daniel Buss, MD

2002     William Roberts, MD

2001     Jeffrey C. Brand Jr, MD

2000     Richard Coombs

1999     Alan Markman, MD

1998     Joel Boyd, MD

1997     Rob Johnson, MD

1996     Sheldon Burns, MD

1995     E. Harvey O'Phelan, MD

1994     David Fischer, MD