The MATA Sports Medicine Enhancement Award is presented to organizations who have made consistent contributions to the advancement of the athletic training profession in the state of Minnesota. Nominated organizations will have provided support to the MATA in one or more of the following areas:

  • Sponsorships
  • Scholarships
  • Educational opportunities
  • Sports medicine product development


Include the Following Information in Your Nomination

  • Overall contributions to the profession of athletic training and the MATA
  • Explain how the organization’s actions have promoted the athletic training profession

Selection & Notification Process

  1. The Honors and Awards Chairperson will review the nominations and forward to the Honors and Awards Committee members for review and recommendation of winners.
  2. The Honors and Awards Chairperson will notify the MATA Executive Committee for final approval of winners.
  3. The honors and Awards Chairperson will notify the winners by letter, email, and/or phone no later than 30 days prior to the awards banquet.
  4. All winners will be presented awards at the annual awards banquet during the MATA Annual Business Meeting and Clinical Symposia.
  5. If the recipient is unable to attend the awards banquet, they may defer for one year to accept the award in person.

Nomination submissions and questions can be directed to the MATA Honors and Awards Chair at

Nominate Here

Award Recipients

2023     Twin Cities Orthopedics

2016     Minnesota Vikings

2015     TRIA Orthopaedic Center

2014     MedPac Medical Bags

2009     MSU-Mankato Administration

2007     Alexandria Orthopaedic, PA

2006     Sport and Orthopedic Specialists, PA

2005     Fairview Health Services

2004     Andy Moore, TheraTech, Inc.

2003     Gary Balego, Balego & Associates

2002     Minnesota State High School League

2001     Orthopaedic & Fracture Clinic, PA

2000     Institute for Athletic Medicine

1999     Minnesota Sports Medicine

1998     Orthopaedic Consultants, PA

1997     Tim Cronin, Bird & Cronin, Inc.

1995     Craig Carlander, Ortho-Midwest, Inc.

1994     Swede Nelson, Swede-O, Inc.