The ATC® credential and the BOC requirements are currently recognized by 49 states for eligibility and/or regulation of the practice of athletic training. The credibility of the BOC program and the ATC® credential it awards are supported by three pillars: (1) the BOC certification examination; (2) the BOC Standards of Professional Practice, and Disciplinary Guidelines and Procedures; and (3) continuing competence (education) requirements.

BOC certification is recognized by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies and is the only accredited certification program for athletic trainers. To be certified, an individual must demonstrate that he/she is an athletic trainer capable of performing the required duties without threat of harm to the public. The BOC traditionally conducts annual examination development meetings during which certified athletic trainers and recognized experts in the science of athletic training develop, review and validate examination items and problems. The knowledge, skills, and abilities required for competent performance as an entry-level athletic trainer fall into three categories:

  1. Understanding, applying, and analyzing;
  2. Knowledge and decision-making;
  3. Special performance abilities.

Athletic trainers are educated, trained and evaluated in five major practice domains:

  1. Injury/Illness Prevention and Wellness Protection
  2. Clinical Evaluation and Diagnosis
  3. Immediate and Emergency Care
  4. Treatment and Rehabilitation
  5. Organizational and Professional Well-Being

For more information regarding the educational, certification, and licensure requirements for athletic trainers visit: